Contemporary Masters? Are there any advancements left?

I am relatively new to photography but have the love and desire to

hopefully make it a profession.

With that said, I read alot about old and new photographers and have

been pondering what advances there are left in the field. Are there

any advances in photography that don't require degrees in micro

engineering or chemistry? What advances are left in the field at all?

I am sure people could imagine things such as the zone system or

color photographs before they were developed, but what is there left

to imagine?

This question ties loosely to Thomas Gardner's questions about the

originality of contemporary images. Is there any room for a

contemporary photographer to become a "master"? Not just take

beautiful photographs but give advances to the medium as well.

Adam, I am going to state the obvious here, but if a given 'advance' was so easy to imagine <i>before</i> it had been developed, then <i>anybody</i> could (and would) introduce it, and such people would hardly need to be considered masters, would they?? It is the fact that it is <i>not</i> easy to imagine new ideas that make those few people who <i>do</i> develop new advances masters!!

<p>

I'm sorry, I know this was not the kind of answer you were after...

<a href="http://www.keithlaban.co.uk">Keith Laban Photography<p></a>Adam<p> Most "Master" photographers work within the constraints of existing technologies and techniques. Their work is celebrated for the insight they bring to their images rather than any advances they introduce to the medium.<p>Great photographs are made by people and whilst there are those with the necessary insight there will always be "Master" photographers.