Contax T rangefinder and metering issues/questions

Hello all,

I have a well-maintained Contax T rangefinder with the drawbridge lens (NOT a T2/T3/etc.) that I purchased recently. All functions appear normal. I shot a roll of Provia 100F on near sunset with a cloudless sky and had it processed by a reputable processor. I took about 6 different test shots with each at every F stop from F2.8 to F16. I have a lot of experience shooting chromes, and to my eyes, these slides appear to be about 1/2 to 1 stop overexposed.

I'm using two SR44 (1.55v) batteries as specified in the manual. Batteries are new in package, produced by Exell. No filter on lens. Fresh film.

Questions:

1. Am I spoiled by using a Nikon F4 with a matrix meter for so many years that I am expecting too much from the Contax T with its spot metering? The F4 is a metering genius. Even my Lomo LC-A does a nice job with chromes. Perhaps I can use two cameras and compare results.

2. Are the SR44 batteries the way to go? The manual states that SR44 (1.55v) or LR44 (1.5v) are OK.

3. Is this the norm for a Contax T since results could be satisfactory with negative film?

4. Where is the meter located in the viewfinder? I practiced aiming at a lightbulb and it seems like the spot meter area is slightly below the rangefinder patch.

I'm tempted to buy another Contax T in order to compare to this one. I really like the camera's manual functions and portability. Anyone have experience shooting chromes regularly with a Contax T?

Edited by Paul Lewis

After giving this some more thought, I think a valid next test of this camera (besides shooting the same scene with a different camera) is to shoot the same photo with different manual ISO settings, for instance 100 speed film at ISO 64, 80, 100, 125 and 160 and determine which ISO provides the best exposure. And do this test at F2.8, F8 and F16 to see if it's linear. Not a fan of this type of compensation long-term.