Concert photography with a Hasselblad?

anacalavera

<p>Greetings to all of you!!<br /> I want to know if a f2.8 lens will be wide enough to photograph at a concert?<br /> And have been looking for color 120 film with a higher iso... I only know of the 800 one. Is pushing the film one stop higher be helpful?<br /> I guess it's going to be difficult (for the moment) since my Hasselblad 500 c/m has no lightmeter. Perhaps I will need to buy another viewer. Right? Which one do you guys suggest? And where to get it at a reasonable price?<br /> Sorry. I am new at medium format photography. Just got a Hasselblad this summer and craving to shoot color photography.</p>

<p>Thank you for your attention towards my concerns!</p>

<p>Well, "wide" relates to focal length and not aperture. 80mm f/2.8 might be good in daylight but you'll have to be fairly close to the stage. I'm not sure if anything is made with a really large aperture for the Hasselblad. Perhaps Edward Ingold or Q.G. DeBakker can chime in since they have a lot of expertise with the 'Blad.</p>

<p>It's not about the camera, it's about the focal length relative to where the shooter is and the lens speed relative to the lighting. There's nothing different about shooting a concert with a 5D with a 50 and a Hassleblad with the 80 except the speed of the lens. There needs to be a lot more information, I realize that the amount of light also needs to be understood.</p>

<p>Also, the lighting becomes an issue with stage lighting if the lights are gel'd, especially with changing colors of gels. This is one reason why flash is often very useful.</p>

<p>f2.8 will be fine <strong>if</strong> you get close enough.<br>

For indoor concert, or night time outdoors, I would use flash, as well as slow shutter speed around 1/15 second to also register ambient light /stage lighting. This can record some blurred but atmospheric movement to liven the images.<br>