Compatible lenses for XTi

elaine_herring

<p>Will all Canon EF lens work on the XTi digital camera? I have older Rebel G film camera with small Canon lens, a promaster 70-210 lens, and Quantaray for Canon 70-300mm LDO macro and the tird party lens do not seem to work on the XTi. Does the XTi only accept EF S lens? Or will any genuine Canon EF lens work on the digital XTi? I need help, I am new to this.</p>

<p>Thanks for the info. I just purchased the used Canon XTi and thought I could use my lens, but when I tried the quantaray I kept getting an error code 99. So I stopped and only used the the small from the kit. I really like to take pictures of butterflies on flowers, caterpillars that emerge as butterflies. I also like to look for birds, I have a lot of wetlands and swamps near me, and the river, so I want a zoom lens for birds and other wildlife that I can't get but so close to. Do you have any suggestions for what Canon lens would be versatile? Thanks Elaine :-)</p>

<p>"Do you have any suggestions for what Canon lens would be versatile?"</p>

<p>That depends on your budget! I have the Canon EF 70-300 f4-5.6 IS lens and would recommend it. Its plenty sharp enough and focuses reasonably quickly. The IS (images stabilisation) helps with handholding. Being an EF lens it will work on your film body or any Canon digital SLR camera. There is also an EF-S 55-250 IS made by Canon which is cheaper but not quite as long. An EF-S lens will not work on a film body or a "full frame" digital Canon SLR. Canon also make some non-stabilised lenses in the 90-300 and 100-300 range.</p>

<p>Remember that because your XTi has a sensor that is smaller than 35mm film, it will effectively magnify your lenses by a factor of 1.6. That means a 70-300 lens on your XTi will seem like a 112-480 on your film body. This extra "reach" is very useful for wildlife and that is why IS is an advantage.</p>

<p>Cheers, Bob</p>