compatible lense for nikon D40

nayeem_ahmed

<p>hey, i'm an amature photographer.i use a D40 with 18-55 kit lense...now i'm willing to buy a tele lense..as the d40 doesn't have an internal motor so dont kno which tele lense i should buy and i dont have that much budget...can u guys plz tell me which tele lenses support D40 and is there any third party lense tht suport d40 with AF?<br>

i would like to buy AF Zoom Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6 autofous lense silver or nikon Zoom 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED AS-S VR DX<br>

does this lense support d40 with autofocus..is this lenses good for me??<br>

Plz give me some suggesion....<br>

<!-- END IMAGE --> <!-- Start links--> <!-- End links--> <!-- ratings box--><a name="desc" href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/486717-GREY/Nikon_2166_55_200mm_f_4_5_6G_ED_AF_S.html" ><br /> </a></p>

<!-- end item source --> <!-- B&H Kit-->

<h2></h2>

<h2><a name="desc" href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/233265-GREY/Nikon_1947_Zoom_Telephoto_AF_Zoom.html" ><br /> </a></h2>

The "AF Zoom Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6 autofocus lense silver" does NOT support autofocus on the D40. This is an earlier very low cost budget zoom from the film era, with flimsy construction quality and a reputation for softness at the 300mm end. There are better alternatives for your D40, such as ...

... the 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED AF-S VR DX you referenced above, which does fully support autofocus on the D40, and despite also being a budget telephoto zoom, has a reputation for good optical quality.

If you need longer than 200mm, then the AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED is fully compatible with the D40, and has excellent image quality. But it is a considerable step up in price (and build quality) compared to the two lenses mentioned in your question.

I think that there are a few third party telezoom alternatives that will autofocus on your D40, but I am not familiar with them, so I'll let someone else offer those suggestions.