Comparing Fuji/Voigtlander GF670 to 667W

will_havershire

<p>I’m new to medium format and am taking a close look at the Fuji GF670 (aka Voigtlander 667) and 667W. Here in the US, the 667W seems to only be available as a Voigtlander product.</p>

<p>I am looking at these cameras because I like the idea of buying a medium format camera new and they have a built-in meter. I also want something compact, hassle free, and easy to use.</p>

<p>I have been shooting 35mm film exclusively for the past 6 months and have made my own prints in a darkroom. I no longer have access to the darkroom, so I am scanning the negatives (or transparencies) and having prints made digitally.</p>

<p>The medium format camera will complement a Nikon FM3a that I use with a 50mm f2 lens pretty much permanently attached. I usually shoot Tri-X but I am experimenting with Provia 100F and TMAX 100.</p>

<p>My goal with medium format is to learn more about the zone system, obtain higher-quality large prints, and try something new.</p>

<p>Here are my questions:</p>

<p>Would the 670 would be more versatile given its normal focal length, as opposed to always having to take wide shots with the 667W?</p>

<p>The 667W is appealing because the lens does not need to be folded out. Is this a hassle with the 670? It seems like it would be a pain to unfold it (and then install a filter) when you want to take a picture.</p>

<p>Is it awkward to leave the lens of the 670 unfolded over the course of a day, such as when traveling? The folding lens seems like the biggest drawback to the 670. It also looks kinda weird and I wonder if I would feel self conscious walking around with such a conspicuously unusual camera around my neck.</p>

<p>The 670 is about $1,500 cheaper than the 667W ($1,650 vs. $3,000 at B&H). Although I could see myself spending $3K for the right camera, it is quite a lot more to spring for the wide version given the 670 is half the price.</p>