Compare my 2 cameras

abhishek gupta1

<p>I have a 350d and recent i took a 500d but somehow I feel images from 500d is a bit dull.<br /> I figured out 3 reasons for this issue<br /> 1) the 18-55 IS lens - is it because of IS that I never used before.<br /> 2) is 350d actually better than 500d (i have no clue) <br /> 3) may be I am wrong on my thoughts and because 500d is new and I have not take as many images as compared with 350d so first i need to take as many pictures as I have taken with 350D and then see if there is a difference or this is just a illusion. <br /> <br /> or do I use my old lens i.e 18-55 without IS with the new 500D and things will be fine.<br /> <br /> And please do not find it funny looking at 500d and 350d as many of my questions have been ignored in other website when I say I am a photographer and I use a 350d or a 500d with a 18-55 lens.<br /> I recently shot the cover page of Sports Illustrated (worlds most popular sports magazine) with the same stupid stuff.<br /> <br /> Many Thanks.</p>

<p>For best results shooting magazine covers you should use a scanner instead :)</p>

<p>Joke aside, try shooting two identical scenes with the same lens, and then compare the results. I had the same issue first time I used a 40D coming from Digital Rebel 300D. Also check the settings, white balance, color vibrancy, that sort of stuff.</p>

<p>Use the same lens on both cameras. Shoot the same subject and shoot from a tripod. Also, make sure the resolution is the same on both; Large Jpeg or preferrably RAW. Use same ISO, picture settings, White balance, exposure settings, etc. Make everything identical on both cameras and then compare the results. </p>

<p>Also, I'm just curious, which SI cover did you shoot? Month/Year</p>

<blockquote>

<p>shooting Sports Illustrated with a Rebel and the kit lens!</p>

</blockquote>