Chinon CE-4 and Canon EOS Rebel T3 lens compatability

lawl_smith

<p>Hello, First of all I posted here because I really wasn't sure where else to post this.</p>

<p>So basically I am a new photographer (got my DSLR 2 months ago). I am interested in both digital and film. Film more so to explore the roots of photography and to learn a dying art. This past weekend my father passed down his old Chinon CE-4 due to lack of use and my interest in photography. With it came 3 lenses and an extender:</p>

<p>The standard 49mm f1.8 lens (Bayonet mount)<br />A 135mm f2.8 lens (Bayonet mount)<br />200mm telephoto 1:4 Lens (Screw mount)<br />2x auto tele extender (Screw mount)</p>

<p>The name brands on the lenses aren't clear at all but I believe the 49mm and 135mm are Chinon and the telephoto and 2x extender are a Pentax. In regard to my Digital SLR I have a 18-55mm EFS and a 75-300mm ultrasonic. </p>

<p>From this my question is it possible to get adapters to use the lenses interchangeably with the bases? If so is it worth it compared to buying new lenses for my digital SLR? </p>

<p>The best solution is to shoot color negative film on the Chinon CE-4 (manual at http://www.butkus.org/chinon/chinon/ce-4/ce-4.htm ) and have the film developed and scanned by the drugstore, if you still have one that does this sort of thing. The lenses will work best on the camera they were made for.</p>

<p>You can get adapters to make Pentax K-mounts (which your Chinon has, see <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentax_K_mount">link</a>) fit on Canon EOS cameras, including your Rebel. The plain adapters are less than US$10 on eBay. I don't recommend the so-called "focus-confirmation" versions, your eye is good enough.</p>

<p>However, at best, remember that you will have to manually operate the aperture on the lens, manually focus, and meter with the lens stopped down.</p>