Chicago in late July

matthew_newton

I am heading to Chicago in Late July on business (31-Aug 2) and I was wondering

if anyone had any suggestions on things to see? I will be working a forum

during most of the day, but I should have evenings and early morning to do what

I want. I could also likely arange to travel out early on July 30th before the

forum instead of the evening of the 30th if there is anything in particular

someone recommends that I should see during the day time.

I am looking not just for photo opportunities, but also anything anyone

recommends on just plain cultural things to do (museums, good food (but not to

pricey), art museums, any zoos etc). I am staying down town near I-290/W

Congress parkway and would prefer to keep the travel down, but I don't have

anything again taking the rail line to get to things (I am staying about 2

blocks from the Harrison stop).

This is my first time to the city.

Thanks.

The Art Institute of Chicago has a world class photography collection with good photography always on display; and the depth of its permanent collection of paintings and sculpture, constantly on display, is spectacular. In the summer, there is free admission on Thursday and Friday nights from 5-9 p.m. and its located just a bit north on Michigan Avenue from where Congress intersects with Michigan Avenue at Grant Park:

http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/photo/index.php

http://www.google.com/maps?hl=en&q=art+institute+of&near=Chicago,+IL&sa=X&oi=local&ct=image

Second the Art Institute, and add the Museum of Modern Photography. That's a few blocks further south on Michigan - probably a block or two from your hotel.