checking photographic equipment

noreen

<p>It looks like I will have to check some of my photo gear (DSLR; 4 lenses; large-ish P&S) on a flight from the USA to Egypt next week. The airline, Royal Jordanian, permits a single carryon weighing no more than 7 kg; the additional "personal item" cannot be an item such as a bag, or even a laptop carried in hand. </p>

<p>I'm struggling to get my carryon (which would additionally include my laptop, portable HDs, and perhaps a portable flatbed scanner, not to mention my wallet and important papers) down to 7 kg. It seems inevitable that, even if I place the scanner in checked baggage, I will very reluctantly have to do the same with some of my lenses, which I've never done before.</p>

<p>Beyond providing the lenses with ample padding, does anyone have any suggestions?</p>

<p>Hopefully you have a very good equipment insurance policy. Putting *things* of high value in luggage in the aircraft hold (as checked baggage) gives the airline a so-much-per-pound (or kilo) of liability. Is your camera worth $2.75 or $3.25 as the weight of lost or misplaced luggage?</p>

<p>You might check with FedEx and see how much it would cost to send your high-value gear to your destination in Egypt.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>In fact I have no insurance, alas. What I do not check will have to be left behind, and I will be in Egypt for at least a year without returning to the USA (and with no visitors to bring the items to me later). Fedex isn't an option because shipping things into Egypt is prohibitively expensive; customs is apt to charge exorbitant fees and I know from anecdotes related by friends and colleagues that delivery is... erratic. Even Fedex. And Fedex will not ship personal effects into Egypt, anyway. I did calculate the cost of shipping--assuming a commercial package--and it comes to more than $200. Customs fees, which could equal the cost/value of the goods, would be on top of that.</p>