Cheaper editions of and alternatives to PS

<p>Hi, I'm a keen amateur photographer and normally either reject an image entirely or use it with only colour correction, spot removal and some levels adjustments. Lightroom 3 does all of those things for me. However, in a minority of cases I could use something more sophisticated:</p>

<ul>

<li>Cloning out wires etc. in ways that Lightroom can't quite deal with.</li>

<li>Perspective adjustments</li>

<li>Stitching (though currently I don't do this at all)</li>

</ul>

<p>I use Lightroom for 100% of my imported images and estimate that I would use a more featureful editor on maybe 1% of my images. My gut feeling then is that paying 2x the cost of Lightroom for a tool I would use so rarely seems wasteful. While the power of the software perhaps justifies its *cost*, I'm talking about its *value* to me.</p>

<p>I would have no problem using an older version of Photoshop, since I guess my needs are simple. Would that yield a genuinely signficant cost reduction? (I'm not eligible for any volume or educational deals). Failing this, what alternatives should I consider?</p>

<p>(Currently I use GIMP on either Linux or Mac OS X, though I find GIMP cumbersome to use. Also the extensive community infrastructure present for PS is pretty much absent for GIMP. I have a modest preference for choosing a tool which can deal with 16-bit-depth images, too.).</p>

<p>I am still using Photoshop CS3, and it honestly does everything I need from it. It has the added advantage of running well still on my G4 iBook as well as my Intel desktop machine.<br>

The trouble with finding a substitute for Photoshop is that the program is so powerful and so capable that it is really hard to even match it in capabilities. There seem to be a half dozen ways of doing anything, depending on how you prefer to have your work flow proceed.<br>