Canon software

julie_anne

<p>Just curious, do people upload their photos to the canon software and then upload it into lightroom/photoshop or do people use the canon software at all? I feel like I'm losing quality in my photos and I'm wondering if I'm just skipping a step that I have never done before. Right now I'm just plugging in my SD card into my computer and then importing directly into lightroom. The SD card has been formatted for the camera. </p>

<p>Some of the Canon software will allow you to download images from the card and simultaneously name, number etc. It can save steps and be handy. Or you can just drag the folder off the card and use Bridge to do the same and more.<br /> Nothing at all wrong with the Canon software, though. It's amazingly good if you don't have a high-end graphics program like Photoshop, and it is free.</p>

<p>It shouldn't have anything at all to do with image quality degradation if the settings are correct. If you have somehow set it to save smaller or more compressed files, then reset the software to default and correct that in the preferences and controls.</p>

<ul>

<li>What Canon model do you have?</li>

<li>What computer and operating system version do you have?</li>

</ul>

<p>Both of those can effect what run and doesn't. I guess you're not blaming the Canon software then for the poor images. At the Canon support site, they do have upgrades for such software. It is NOT necessary to use it.</p>

<p><br /> As far as Lightroom goes, the same problems of settings can occur that I refer to above - check your settings and make sure you are not importing at poorer jpg settings or at inferior resolutions.<br /> Good luck.</p>