Canon Rebel XTi vs Canon 30D

throbinson

Just curious, been eyeing up digital and see that the 30D is more than the

XTi... yet, the 30D is an 8.2mp vs the 10.1mp XTi, and the XTi has that self

cleaning option to it....

I know I must be missing something....

Can anyone tell me why the 30D costs about $300 more and why it would be

chosen over top of the XTi?

I'm a student, or else I'd get the 5D...

Being a student I am also cheap (not by choice) so was looking at the XTi

pricewise, but if there is some reason why the 30D would be a better choice

I'd like to know... I'm a Graphic Design student, ending 1st yr and want a

camera that will last me many years, even when starting to work... again the

5D would be great... but... it's a bit out of my price range.

Thanks

Compare size and construction: the 30D is larger and has a magnesium alloy "skeleton." Plus the very useful Quick Control Dial.

It's mostly a case of superior interface (30D) vs. newer technology (XTi).

That the 30D wasn't superceded last month by a newer model (a la 40D) with the more current technologies found in the XTi is a source of chagrin and anguish for many Canon 10/20/30D and Digital Rebel (original/XT) owners.

The self cleaning option and higher resolution is about all the XTi has going for it on the 30D. Others will certainly disagree, saying that its better on little more than the fact that it is newer. If you compare the statistics of the two, you will see that the 30D is superior most capacities. As for the 30D compared to the XTi, it has a higher max shutter speed, faster frame rate, 1/3 stop ISO settings, larger buffer, faster flash sync, spot metering, longer battery life, better build, ISO 3200, and a few more minor features. You decide if thats worth an extra $300. To some, it is not, to others, it makes all the difference.