Canon Rebel XTI vs. 20D

lindsay_drake

Hello everybody! I have been comtemplating about buying a Rebel XTI for

awhile...and then I read about the 20D's and many people suggested that over

the XTI...what is the main difference and which one do you suggest? I am

going to do many portraits and some long distance wildlife...deer, coyotes,

bobcats etc...I live in Kansas. not much out here for exotic animals!

Any help would be appreciate...I am new to the DSLR world!

Lindsay

I prefer the XTi because I travel a bit and appreciate it's small size. If size is not an issue (and many people like the 20D because it is bigger) then get the 20D. It has a better viewfinder, better ergnomics, a better autofocus, a faster frame rate and more solid build. Image quality from either camera will be excellent, the 20D will just make it a bit easier to do things.

The 20D feels better in the hand. The XTi is more current, and thus has better imaging electronics. Personally, I feel the XTi is the better buy.

"...deer, coyotes, bobcats etc...I live in Kansas. not much out here for exotic animals!"

Pretty exotic if one's only used to the occasional dive bombing pigeon. It's all relative, eh.

You can take fine photographs with either...

... which may be enough to convince you to take the XTi seriously.

The XTi has a 10MP sensor (instead of 8, though that is perhaps a smaller advantage than

you might imagine), dust reduction technology built in, and most of the other

technological features of the 30D. (The 30D is the newer, upgraded verson of the 20D.)

The XTi is smaller and lighter than the 30D. Some regard this as a disadvantage while

others regard it as an advantage. (I'm in the latter camp.)

In term of image quality, the 20D (along with the 30D) has no advantage over the XTi. Both

use the same high quality lenses.

If you frequently photograph high speed action sports then the 30D's slightly faster burst