Canon Mark II 5D Focus Problem.

jo_mikis

<p>Hello i am an owner of a canon mark II 5d and i am a portrait photographer. I realize some issues with my camera in edit process. <br /><br />I used to have some high shutter speed but in some of my photos the subject is out of focus completely. I dodnt understand the focus spot of this Photo. <br />I use a 85 1.8mm canon <br />In this photo i used the following settings <br />1/2000 f2,5 iso 100 <br />Take o Look at the photos , you will realize the difference if you see the actual size.<br>

Thanks for the support here is a link with some of them <br /><br />https://www.dropbox.com/s/1420zkc0yrbw9s1/leoforio-153.jpg<br /><br />The second is <br /><br />1/3200 f2,5 the same problem the face is out of focus and i cant see the focus point <br /><br />https://www.dropbox.com/s/fi5k84pshpd0cm3/leoforio-162.jpg</p>

<p>Jo, the problem is the f/2.5 aperture. At f/2.5, the depth of field is very narrow, maybe a fraction of an inch. That means that wherever you focus on the face or elsewhere, everything else will be out of focus.</p>

<p>Why do you need to shoot at 1/2000 second when your subject isn't moving at all? If you're shooting handheld, try 1/250 or even 1/500, with an aperture somewhere close to f/11, for a start. That will probably solve the problem...</p>

<p>Focus on the eyes, and if the eyes are at different distances from the camera, focus on the nearest eye.</p>

<p>DOF with an 85mm lens on full frame at f2.5 at 3m is about 20cm. At 5m it's about 50cm, it's not "a fraction of an inch" unless you are shooting macro. I doubt the problem is just DOF. It's could be the lens focus that's off, but you'll have to shoot a flat target to see that. You might also be focusing on the wrong part of the subject.</p>

<p>Of course within the DOF doesn't mean absolutely sharp. It just means "acceptably" sharp. Still, whatever you have the focus point over should be the sharpest part of the image.</p>