Canon Lens 50mm f 1.4 USM

viola_powell

<p>I am shooting a small wedding for a friend - she knows I am not a professional but trusts me that I will do anything I can to make the pictures look right. Okay so...I bought the Canon 1.8 the other day and played with it since it is in a catholic church and the lighting is dim. The test pictures were ok - but I want better. Right now, I am going to go for it and buy the Canon f 1.4 and maybe I will be happier. My question is should I still shoot at 1600 and app. 1.4 - since with the 1.8 I was shooting at 1600 and app. 1.8? This is probably a no brainer - but thought I would ask. I have to say - the test pictures had good lighting - but just a little grainy, not too bad.<br>

Thanks!</p>

<p>I have both lens. IMHO use the f1.4 the same way you use your f1.8. You will find the f1.4 yield nicer pictures from f1.8 to f2.5. You also get to use f1.4 but with less Depth of Field (DOF). The difference between f1.4 and f1.8 is about 2/3 stop. I would use it to gain shutter speed when required and when the picture can handle less DOF.</p>

<p>f1.4 is only a smidge wider than f1.8, so if by 'better', you mean ability to shoot in dimmer light, it isn't going to be that much better. The f1.4 version is generally thought to have a bit nicer bokeh and is supposedly a bit sharper at the same apertures (as on the f1.8 version), but we are talking 'slight' here. The build quality is better but the f1.4 version is not robust in the focusing mechanism department. It is known to break easily (the focusing mechanism). Mine went out after falling only 8" on soft carpet.</p>