Canon G10 or Canon xsi

Hello

My name is Greg and I am a student.

I will be traveling and need to print big photos of 16 x 20 or 20 x 24.

Does anyone know if the Canon G 10 or XSI can produce good quality photos this size .

I shoot landscape and I hope to get one of these cameras until I can get the 50 D.

I use a tripod when I shoot day and night.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

God Bless

Greg

Either one of them will work well for your application. The XSi is bigger and quicker to use with no appreciable shutter lag. The G10 is the best point and shoot available right now with excellent image quality but it needs good skills and anticipation to shoot people. Ken Rock well, who appears to be non grata on p.net right now, has a good 'review' opinion piece with great examples of landscape photographs on his site that he has done with his new G10. The G10 is obviously much smaller and lighter to carry. Good luck.

Why would you want a 50D?

Today's DPreview indicates its image quality is worse than the 40D

and for only $700 extra!

Bottom line: the G10 produces better pictures than an XSi with

18-55 IS kit lens, except in low light (as John mentioned).

Propose a Canon lens and maybe somebody can give you useful advice.

I posted in another thread in this forum, but wanted to add my thoughts here as well.

I think that the G10 Mr. Reichmann (luminous-landscape) is using may be a "bad" unit! The ISO 80 and 100 shots I've taken with

the G10 in low light are virtually noise-FREE! The examples on luminous-landscape that were taken at ISO 80 look as noisy as

400 or 800 ISO shots taken with MY G10 body! Very weird.

Here's a high ISO test strip I made. Only did 200/400/800/1600, since 80 and 100 are clean (in MY G10). Shot at f2.8 and 28mm.

Taken hand-held from an idling car window. Evaluative metering. No post processing and 100% crops.

http://activatedfx.zftp.com/G10/CanonG10_isoTest2.jpg