Canon Factory Repair Service - opinions thought

mjd

The shutter and AF buttons on my AF are sticky, nothing major but

since the body was purchased second hand, having it CLA'd is a good

idea anyway. A while back I had an awful experience with Canon Factory

Repair Service (CFRS)in Illinois. Can anyone comment on CFRS New

Jersey? Good? Bad? Thanks. MD

I sent my 100-400 zoom to Canon's NJ repair center a couple of months ago and was very pleased with their servcice. They responded with an estimate within two or three days and completed the repair quickly. I was without the lens less tan two weeks.

I've always found them excellent. The Jamesburg NJ factory service center does all the pro work for the east coast, so they have pretty good people there. Of course like anyone else, sometimes they can make mistakes and sometimes I'm sure stuff gets lost in the bureaucracy. I'm a pro services member and I usually drop my stuff off there in person (they're about 1hr from me), so maybe I get better service than a consumer mailing stuff in to them.

The Chicago service center does all the Powershot work, but the east and west coast service centers do all the film camera and SLR work as far as I know. Are you sure your camera was serviced in Chicago? Maybe they sent it to the east or west coast centers (assuming it's an SLR).

Note that people use their cameras more during the summer, so that's when they send in stuff for repair. That can mean turn around times can be longer in summer than in winter.

>>Are you sure your camera was serviced in Chicago?

Well, Elk Grove Village to be more precise, just outside of Chicago if memory serves. I spoke with them several times before, during and after the repair and the camera and lens were indeed "serviced" at their facilities.