Canon EOS 5D Mark II versus Nikon D3

I'm primarily a landscape photographer and prefer the "big vista" type of landscapes that Ansel Adams was famous

for. That being said, I want to move from film to digital. I currently use a Contax RTS-III system to do most of

my work, so that leaves me in the position of not having an existing set of lenses for any current DSLR system

and frees me to choose either Nikon or Canon.

There seems to be two primary differences between the D3 and the 5DII that would affect my work: pixel resolution

and build quality. (I don't care about video, so that feature of the Canon is not relevant.)

The 5DII is 21MP and the D3 is 12MP. For landscape work where my typical print is either 8"x10" or 16"x20", how

much difference will 9 additional MP of resolution make? If this is a significant factor, then this will probably

sway me towards the 5DII (the EOS 1DS mark III is out of my price range).

The D3 is Nikon's top-of-the-line "pro" DSLR. Is its build quality significantly better than an "enthusiast" DSLR

like the 5DII? I'll be carrying whatever I buy around in a rucksack in sometimes dusty conditions--will a pro

model make much of a difference here?

• Replies 154
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

AT 16x20 you'll definitely see the difference. Build quality is not as high in the 5D but I've yet to hear any landscape photgraphers complain about the original 5D in the field, and the II is built better. The 5D also weights less, which can make a difference after a while. Also FWIW, the 5D has finer grain at high ISOs.

There may be a little bonus here in the Canon EOS line as well. I am not really familiar with the Contax RTS-III, but I presume it uses the Contax/Yashica mount and is manual focus. If so, there are relatively inexpensive adapters that would allow you to use your C/Y lenses on the 5D as MF, stop-down lenses.