Canon EOS 5D Mark II versus Nikon D3

Discussion in 'Mirrorless Digital Cameras' started by jerry_gardner|1, Nov 25, 2008.

1. I'm primarily a landscape photographer and prefer the "big vista" type of landscapes that Ansel Adams was famous
    for. That being said, I want to move from film to digital. I currently use a Contax RTS-III system to do most of
    my work, so that leaves me in the position of not having an existing set of lenses for any current DSLR system
    and frees me to choose either Nikon or Canon.

There seems to be two primary differences between the D3 and the 5DII that would affect my work: pixel resolution
    and build quality. (I don't care about video, so that feature of the Canon is not relevant.)

The 5DII is 21MP and the D3 is 12MP. For landscape work where my typical print is either 8"x10" or 16"x20", how
    much difference will 9 additional MP of resolution make? If this is a significant factor, then this will probably
    sway me towards the 5DII (the EOS 1DS mark III is out of my price range).

The D3 is Nikon's top-of-the-line "pro" DSLR. Is its build quality significantly better than an "enthusiast" DSLR
    like the 5DII? I'll be carrying whatever I buy around in a rucksack in sometimes dusty conditions--will a pro
    model make much of a difference here?

2. AT 16x20 you'll definitely see the difference. Build quality is not as high in the 5D but I've yet to hear any landscape photgraphers complain about the original 5D in the field, and the II is built better. The 5D also weights less, which can make a difference after a while. Also FWIW, the 5D has finer grain at high ISOs.

3. Jerry,

No question the 5D MkII, the extra 9 mp will be important for fine detail and besides you can get an RTS to EOS adapter for $39 and use all your current lenses, for landscape work the functional limitations shouldn't limit your use.

Take care, Scott.