Canon EF 300mm F/4 L ...what's a fair s/h price?

john e v bailey

Hello everyone,

I hope to come to frequent this site with more useful contributions in future

but first off I'm going to dive in with a question and I'd appreciate your

input please.

I am a beginner and currently I have a Canon EOS 350D with the EF-S 17-85mm.

I've been offered a second hand Canon EF 300mm F/4 L to buy, which has

currently been lent to me and I'm getting a lot of enjoyment from (operating

at 480mm I guess because of the smaller sensor).

However neither myself nor the seller has a clue on what is a fair price for

this lens, I'm not sure of its age maybe 15 years or so and cost about ᆪ1000

new I believe? I've trawled the archives and google groups etc and found

various varying prices over the years but nothing to really give a handle on

what it would go for now.

So with the IS version out (which the seller is looking to get as a

replacement and recoup some money by selling on the non-IS to me) how much

should I be looking to pay for the non-IS version? I'm looking at ᆪ but even

if you can give me a handle in dollars or anything as a guide that would be

appreciated.

Thanks,

John

Yes thanks, I should have mentioned I also looked on Ebay. There were none in the UK and only 1 in the US (was last at ~ᆪ300) or Canada I believe when I last searched, I will keep checking but there just don't seem to be many in circulation, and I think ebay doesn't store closed auctions for very long so I can't search back through them unfortunately.

Paul - Thanks for the input, that's sort of what range I've found historically too. It looks like a direct exchange rate conversion would make that pretty cheap, especially given what Richard has found below, but they are a commercial outfit. I hadn't heard of KEH, I will register for that later and see what they say, I dont have the lens handy right now to do the required inspection!