Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM

doug_nashtock

<p>I am a freelancer for my local paper and I am looking to upgraded to the 17-40 L lens for team trophy shots over my 70-200 non IS 2.8 and my Sigma 28-70 2.8 glass. I am asking for your assistance in choosing an inexpensive lens. Is the 17-40 a good choice for the money? Thank you all for your assistance and I apologize for not being computer literate enough to find if this is a repost. Please forgive me.</p>

<p>Well it's not really an 'upgrade' per say over your existing glass. More specifically, it would extend your UWA capability if you are shooting FF.</p>

<p>If you are shooting FF, it will open a whole new world for you (and do so fairly cost effectively) - which is a definite plus!</p>

<p>If you are shooting on the crop however, you may be better served by something which will give you UWA (such as a 10-20/22/24) capability, or a more 'GP' lens like the EF-S 15-85 - which would give you a good WA (24mm eff FOV). Some of your crop options perform better than the 17-40, and are far more cost effective.</p>

<p>Regardless, depending upon the environment you are shooting in, for team shots, being able to go wider than 28mm (esp on the crop!) is a must.</p>

<p>I had one. It was a good lens. I once worked for a newspaper. If you have full frame and need wide angle it works well. I hardly ever needed that width except for large crowds or a stadium full of people. I hardly ever used the lens and sold it. Post newspaper I had a 24-105 that I used for almost everything wide that I needed and I hardly ever used the 17-40 on a full frame 5D. If you are not using full frame then the 17-40 makes a good walk around lens on a crop camera. If you are using your current lenses on a crop camera then you must be missing certain news pictures because none of your lenses are really wide. </p>