Canon 70mm - 200mm f4 Non-IS OK For Indoor Weddings?

alex_bruce

<p>Hi Everyone,</p>

<p>I’m a photo student and I’m just starting to pursue some professional work. I also hold a full time office job so for the time being my professional work is limited to things like portraits, events, and weddings that I can do on the weekend. I just happen to come into a little bit of money which makes purchasing a new lens a possibility, and I was looking at the Canon 70mm – 200mm f4 WITHOUT IS. I usually don’t like to make rushed buying decisions but I realized there’s an $80 rebate on it that happens to end tomorrow so if I’m going to buy it, I’d like to do so within the next 24 hours.</p>

<p>Being that I’m still a student I don’t know ultimately what type of photography I will end up doing career-wise but at least for the next few years it’s going to be weddings and the like so I want my gear to be appropriate for that type of work. I was hoping I could get away with using the 70mm – 200mm f4 without IS for indoor weddings. I know either getting the IS model or the 2.8 would be ideal but I don’t have the money for that at the moment so I either get the f4 with no IS or save and get a different lens down the line. The primary reason I thought I could get away with the f4 without IS, is that I just purchased a 6D specifically for its low light capabilities. So if I compare the f2.8 lens to the f4 lens that’s only one stop difference and because the 6D is so good with low light my thought was using the f4 I could just push the ISO an extra stop if needed.</p>

<p>I’d love to get everyone’s opinion, does it make sense for me to get this lens?</p>

<p>As a side note, the 24mm - 70mm will probably be my next purchase but I think overall I'll get more use out of the 70mm - 20mm so I'd like to get it first.</p>

<p>Thanks everyone for your help!</p>