Canon 70-300 f4-5,6 IS USM or DO IS USM ?

winterlight

<p>Is it sensible to upgrade an old 75-300 f4-5,6 III USM to one of the above mentioned ? Is the DO really worth the extra cost over the other one and can anyone comment on his or her expertise with these lenses?<br>

(I have been using the 75-300 a lot in the past when traveling light, and like the compactness and the light weight. I know it is not the most exquisite lens, but it has provided me with a lot of very decent travel photo's, and I think it is a good walk around /travel light lens option, certainly in some areas of the world. I am an amateur and use a 50D, and already own a 100-400L IS USM telezoom which I use for wildlife). I would be grateful for your comments.</p>

<p>If you're interested in a superzoom the Tamron 18-270 gets nice reviews.</p>

<p>If you want top quality but smaller than the 100-400 the 70-200/F4 IS is great.</p>

<p>The 70-300 IS (non DO) is smaller again and pretty good.</p>

<p>If you still want smaller and don't mind plastic fantastic the 55-250/IS is pretty good.</p>

<p>If you want small and tough and a zoom the 70-300 DO is pretty good but less good than the non-DO version.</p>

<p>By the way, primes in that range are also small and offer great IQ. (Think 135/2)</p>

<p>I think that the DO business in general hasn't panned out as well as Canon had hoped when they started it. From everything I've read, the main advantage of the DO version of this focal length is its size and compactness as DeLoyd says. Reviews have tended to emphasize its sensitivity to flare (<a href="http://www.photozone.de/canon-eos/201-canon-ef-70-300mm-f45-56-usm-is-lab-test-report--review?start=1">link</a> ), but it is otherwise considered very fine. It is an older design, however, so you might do better to look at something newer in the L line, or even the little 55-250 mentioned.</p>