Canon 5D

radu_diaconu

Hi,

First I just want to say that I'm not trying to create a fight or generate

discontent, but merely asking for opinion.

I'm trying to decide between the 5D and D200. I've handled both in the store and

was really impressed by the viewfinder of the 5D, but I found the controls on

the D200 to be more logical, of course I could live with that since the Full

Frame is very attractive.

I'm a Photograpy student at University and I do mostly photojournalism and

fashion/commercial work.

Until now I was shooting film with my Rolleiflex Automat and my Nikon F3 with

28,50 and 135mm lens.

I want to move to digital and I'm trying to cut down on the differences and

would like to hear your opinions about it.

Thanks,

Radu D.

Radu,

No fight here. I own a D200 and a 20D. As I have said many times I like the body of the D200 and the sensor of the 20D. The primary reason for going with the D200 was to use my pre-existing Nikkor glass (along with a very good copy of the 17-35mm 2.8). If I did not have a lot of Nikkor glass, I think the 5D would be the clear choice. If you have the budget go with the 5D.

Hi Michael,

How do you like your D200 compared to the 20D, do you mind the viewfinder? For me that was the biggest disapointment when compared to the 5D (talking about the D200).

As I have no Autofocus glass in Nikon, I'm still trying to decide.

Thanks.

Radu

I own the 5D and love it so my vote is the Canon <BR><br>

Now since you mentioned the planed uses here is how the 5D can work for you there:<br><br>

- Photojournalism: The Full frame will allow you to use the PJs most loved focal lenses 28mm, 35mm and 50mm at their intended crop size.<br><br>

- Fashion/Commercial work. The higher sensor and pixel count of the 5D gives you an advantage on image quality which is very important on this type of work (is so important the 5D may be the very lowest you can use). <br><br>