Hi, Im new to this whole DSLR scene coming from a point and shoot camera. But I

had a few questions regarding the UV lens filter and a lens hood for my EF-S

18-55 58mm lens.

What brands do you recommend for these 2 items? (I heard to just get Canon's UV

filter and a generic Lens hood)

And also can I just go on ebay and find these items with 58mm diameters and

would these fit fine?

Thanks in advance!

Whatever you do - dont buy a cheap UV filter.

I'd recomend Hoya Super Multicoated, Canon , B &W or other high quality brand.

You are much better off NOT adding one than adding a cheap one. This debate has gone on for years.

Before you spend a bunch on filters or lens hoods - are you committed to the 18-55? If not - figure out what size filter you might need for another prospective lens.

Hi,

Personally, I'd suggest getting the matched, good-fitting Canon lens hood, and forget about the filter until you actually need one for some reason other than "protection".

The Canon hood will be the best matched to the lens nearly always. That's particularly true of an EF-S lens. Third party hoods off eBay may or may not fit well, it's anyone's guess.

Eventually you will most likely want a circular polarizer. Most other filter effects can be replicated in Photoshop or other post-processing softwares. You can use software to warm up or cool down an image, add softening, and make many other image changes that required an actual filter in the days of film. Polarizers are one of the few filters that are next to impossible to duplicate with software.

Camera stores love to sell you those profitable filters, that can all too often have degrading effects on your images and really don't offer very much "protection" (It's a thin piece of glass, for Pete's sake!).