Canon 24-105 mm L vs. Non-L series

I am a fashion photographer and I am planning to buy a 24-105mm lens from

Canon (I am using EOS 20D).

My question is, since the price between the L and Non-L series (24-105mm) is

so much different (approx 1000Eur vs. 350EUR), is it worth to buy the L series

for my type of photography? (you can view my portfolio at

imawira.deviantart.com)

Thanks in advance and hope to hear some feedback.

Indra

I'm a big fan of the 24-105mm L as a lot of people on the forum know. But I've got to ask you if you are sure you will get on with a lens that has quite deep depth of field relative to buying yourself two or three of the more economical primes (35mm f2, 50mm f1.4 and 85mm f1.8)? If I was doing the kind of photography you do I imagine I would use that kind of lens instead should I want shallow DOF. I can't speak of the 28-105 myself having never even handled one but you do tend to get what you pay for. Also it depends how big you will print/display your shots. If it's not too big you can get away with more deficiencies in the lens - usually. You need to tell us more about what you do really.

An 'L' lens will give better colour, contrast and bokeh than the consumer line of lenses. Most 'L' lenses can be used wide open and still give a crisp image that is better than a consumer zoom lens stopped down a stop or two. My 'L' lenses seem to have a clarity that I cannot duplicate when using a consumer zoom. For your type of work I would prefer the 24-70 f/2.8 L paired with a 70-200 f/2.8 L IS on a second body.

If you are earning a living from your work or you are a serious amateur, certainly the 'L' is worth the extra expense.

<P>I have both the EF 24-105 4L and 24-85 USM. Both are nice lenses in there own right,

but

the L zoom is sharp and contrasty wide open. The 24-85 needs to be stopped down to F8

or higher to be be critically sharp. Both have terrible barrel distortion at the wide end. So if