Canon 20-35L or 20-35 USM

jorge_ituarte3

I am stuck on a decision between purchasing a used Canon 20-35 f/2.8L

or a new Canon 20-35 f/3.5-4.5 USM. I am leaning toward the "L".

However, I have heard numerous times that the 20-35 USM is every bit

as good stopped down and I have also seen a number of pros carrying

the USM model. I would appreciate subjective opinions from the point

of view of esthetics. I am an artist and am concerned as much with

the "look" a lens renders as much as I am with lines/mm. Keep in mind

I tend to like certain qualities of good older glass. Clarity, tonal

separation, color rendition, "pop". I would highly appreciate advice

from people that have hands on experience with both. I already have

primes in this range, so please offer advice on the wide angle zooms

in question only. Thanks in advance!

Don't ever question the quality of a L USM over an non-L USM. L equivalents

of non-L lenses are better in terms of sharpness, color rendition and non-

distortion, no doubt about it. I have no experience with those WA zooms but

I'm absolutely sure the L is much better in terms of both what you call the

"rendered look" and lines/mm (which I take as sharpness). Of course, you will

see pros carrying non-L lenses. After all they're glass :) and a lot of them are

just great in most situations.

The real questions are: do you work enough in the conditions into which the

difference becomes visible so that the price difference would be justified? Do

the conditions allow you most of the time to stop down the lens in order to

obtain increased performance (given that you need that performance, which

is not always the case) ?

We can't really help you. Tell us more about the kind of work you do in WA.