Canon 1D Mark II vs 1D Mark II N

eric_chiu2

I have been using my 4mp 1D for quite a while since 2003. I am ready for upgrade to Mark II.

Now this is my question:

A used 1D mark II now would be around $2500-$2900 depends on condition. A used or new Mark II N

would be around $3000-$3400. Is it worth for spend that $500-$900 for the Mark II N?

I checked dpreview.com and kind of know the different between them which is not much. The best thing

is to have a bigger 2.5" screen. Look like both camera have the same sensor and digi II chip. It sounds

500-900 is a lot of money for a bigger screen. Or there is other good upgrade of Mark II N I missed?

Should I go for Mark II N or just but a used mark II? Thanks everybody.

I don't think you can go wrong with either. I bought a like new Mark II from KEH and haven't regretted it. If they had a new Mark II N for an extra couple hundred I would have went for it. New Mark II Ns go close to $3600-3800 whereas a used like new Mark II can be had for less than $2900.

Please tell us where you can get a new Mark IIN for $3000.

For me, $500-900 is not worth a larger LCD, brighter AF points, and few other ergonomic changes in the menu software.

1. The 1D Mk II N also has an advantage of being newer. Therefore, when buying used, there is a good chance - statistically speaking - that you will get a body with a lot less actuations.

2. When you sell it, the 1D Mk II N is likely to achieve a higher price.

Just another points for considerations.

Happy shooting,

Yakim.

Hello, Eric.

About nine months ago I was comparing these same two models and the camera you have (coming from film, however). I decided on the N model, but only because my friend got me 35% off. If not for the discount, I would have gone for the camera that you have now, just as a holdover until the Mk. II prices went down.

So, having looked at the same things you're looking at, here is my take on it: