Can the SB-800 be a commander with PocketWizards?

cyrus_procter

<p>I am somewhat new to speedlights, having used traditional tungsten and florescent constant power lights. Lately I've got tired of hauling my 10LB, 20LB, even 35LB lights around and requiring power for them so I invested in an SB-800 & 2 SB-600s when a friend of mine decided to get out of photography and gave me a heck of a deal. The commander mode of the SB-800 was the coolest thing I've discovered in photography since, well since cameras! Being able to adjust the Sb-600s right from the SB-800 on my camera was just amazing! I'm used to lighting a scene with at least 3 lights, so I wanted to pull my SB-800 off and have all three lights controlled by my D7000, which works ok, but it is much, much less convenient than having the controls right on my SB-800. I do shoot outside and I like to put my speedlights in weird places, so I bought a pair of PocketWizards, a TTL 1 & TTL 5 Flex. I love the pocketwizards, biggest problem I have is I've only got one! So I thought I would be able to put my one SB-800 on the TTL 5 Flex, in commander mode and then put the two SB-600s in remote mode. Makes sense to me! However once I put the SB-800 in commander mode, it no longer works, at all, doesn't even fire! :(.</p>

<p>So my question is, is there a way to put my SB-800 onto a PocketWizard TTL Flex in Commander mode and have it control the two SB-600s that are NOT on PocketWizards but in remote mode?</p>