Can any OCF system keep up with 12 FPS bursts?

ben_lunsford2

<p>Hello Photo.net,<br>

I'm a lighting newbie starting an amateur photography project in the new year and need to know more about portable lighting. Specifically, I will be photographing portraits of people in their own small NY apartments, often with squirming pets or children. For the squirmy aspect I am getting a Sony a99 II (12 FPS continuous burst) as I believe it is the most affordable Full Frame with that much mechanical burst.<br /><br />I was going to get one or two pieces of off-camera flash (since flash is lighter than large monolights and I will be hauling all gear on the subway and through the streets for each and every shoot) to use in conjunction with each person's apartment lighting (which may vary widely). But I think I've read that standard flash can't begin to keep up with <strong>12 FPS</strong> (i.e., I'd like to take up to <strong>24-30 consecutive shots</strong> during a 2-to-2.5 sec. period) and so I will likely need larger monolights? Are there any always-on LED lighting alternatives that might also do the trick?<br /><br />Thank you very much for your help.<br /><br />-Ben</p>

No LED lighting will provide enough light to use

motion-stopping shutter speeds, say <1/200th sec.

Not at sensible apertures and ISO speeds. At apertures wider than f/4 your DOF is so thin that any AF system will be stretched to keep the subject in focus at 12fps.

Speedlights also will only keep up with 12 fps at low power settings (maybe 1/16th power at most). The good news here is that lower power means a shorter flash duration, and that an accessory power pack will shorten recycle times.