Camera Upgrade?

kaitlynnbell

Hello!

I am a beginner photographer who has been shooting with a NiKkon D3300 for the last 7 months. I didn't invest much at first because I wasn't sure if I would enjoy photography as a job, rather than a hobby. However, after the last few months and after doing 30 portrait and newborn shoots it seems I do love it. I would like to upgrade my camera, but I feel I am not ready for a full frame as I am still learning lots of basics lighting, composition ect--also I don't feel I could afford to replace all my lenses with FX equivalents. Having said all that what Nikon crop sensor would you recommend while I continue to work on my basics and grow over this next year.

Thanks in advance!

Edit for typos

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Umm! Do you really need to upgrade the D3300?

There's no doubt IMO that full-frame is a better tool for portraits. It allows a shallower depth of field and therefore more isolation of the subject from the background. It also has the potential to render skin tones more smoothly at higher ISO speeds.

Personally, I'd put my money into full-frame compatible lenses at this stage, and worry about upgrading the camera body later.

"I don't feel I could afford to replace all my lenses with FX equivalents.."

- What lenses do you already have? If you're comfortable with manual focus, then most of Nikon's older MF lenses are excellent, and can be picked up cheaply used. All of the old 'film' lenses are obviously FX compatible.

The 85mm f/2 and 105mm f/2.5 primes are both classic portrait lenses that would work equally well on DX as FX. However, I'm not familiar with the D3300's lens compatibility. It may not be capable of using those lenses - there's a lens compatibility list in the manual, I'm sure.