camera upgrade question

annft212

Hi all. I am not a total beginner but am still relatively new to this and have a Canon EOS Rebel SL1. I take mainly event photos at parties and church events. I have gotten paid for my work (hurray for that!) so now I am thinking maybe it is time to upgrade the camera, just the body for now. What would people suggest as a good upgrade? I would like to stay in the Canon EOS compact sensor line. I don't want to have to buy all new lenses all at once as the money would be a problem. I have 3 lenses, an EF 40 mm fixed, an EF-S 18-55 and an EF-S 18-135. I have been looking at the Canon EOS 7D online but am not sure I can afford it. Any suggestions would be great.

I'm no Canon expert, bought my 1st this year.

Even the 7D Mk II is getting a bit old / is reaching the end of it's model cycle? If money is an issue I'd always try to save by buying used.

How about the 80D? (Or an used 70D?) Both seem to offer a desirable multitude of AF spots, that hopefully work better than what you have right now.

As I am understanding the 7D II it is intended as a professional grade sports & birding body. Do you really need 10FPS to machine gun down events?

The trick of growing a well stuffed bag on a budged is to avoid super big investments in camera bodies. - Yes, it is nice & important to have 2. But a pair of big flash guns and maybe even some stabilized f2.8 zoom(s) want to be bought too.

• Like 1

Don't let getting paid for a few pictures go to your head!

Sit down and list what exactly is lacking in your current camera that you need to upgrade.

Better autofocus? Are you missing focus on many shots?

Better ISO speed or less noise? Is the camera struggling in your usual lighting conditions?

More shooting speed (FPS)? Are you missing shots while the camera is storing images?

More resolution? Are you missing fine detail at your usual print or display size?