Camera Repair Recommendations

abelleschmidt

I am a beginner B&W photographer in a college intro course. I have been using my Grandpa's 1959 Nikon F which works perfectly except for the light meter. I've been using light meter apps but it really is a pain and they aren't very accurate. Does anyone have any recommendations of where I can get my light meter fixed for a fair price in South/Central Jersey?

I doubt you'll get it fixed 'for a fair price' anywhere, I'm afraid. I believe the meters are notoriously prone to failure, and the power cells may no longer

be available either. May I suggest you look for a Weston hand-held meter, which will complement your adoption of mature technology nicely, and can

be used for both reflected and incident light readings, which an internal meter can not.

Tony is right about the likelihood of a repair of a vintage Nikon Photomic finder. A working Weston would be a good meter, but you might want to consider something newer from Sekonic or Gossen, which are still in production and more easily repairable. I have had good luck with Sekonic meters for the last 30 + years, with no problems that couldn't be solved by a new battery or re-zeroing it after it was dropped.

My Weston suggestion was purely for reasons of being of a similar age to the camera (of which I am jealous, BTW !) - I agree there are many other fine meters that will do a superb job as well. I use a Weston V with my Pentax K20D, which occasionally gets me strange looks.