Camera presets and postprocessing

Good morning,

I am new in the digital world and I am wondering if I should use some of my Nikon D610 presetings like sharpening, vivid colors, white balance ....etc or leave those presets alone and just shoot in RAW format with a postproduction later on?

If an image is sharpened by the camera settings, will be be even sharper with the postprocessing?

Thank you.

If you shoot in RAW, the general answer is to set very little in the camera and make the "settings" decisions in post processing. If you shoot in JPEG, you need to make as many of the settings in your camera just as if you were shooting slide film.

I shoot mostly nature subjects and I set minimal sharpening in the camera and add what additional sharpening is needed in post processing. If it is a picture of a bird or an animal, I often just sharpen the face or the body. If I were shooting landscapes, I might apply sharpening differently.

When I teach grade school students I often use materials found at Cambridge In Colour Tutorials. Here is a link to their master list of tutorials. Start with something basic and then go from there. I have found that many like the way they approach various photo topics.

Digital Photography Tutorials

• Like 1

AFAIK a RAW file is a RAW file. No matter what you dial into the camera, it will get applied to JPEGs. Sorry I can't come up with great advice for your camera. The general answer is (probably):

If you have a chance to shoot RAW and (not "or"!) JPEG, use it! If you are new, you probably can't predict in which mood you'll deal with your pictures later. A RAW workflow means "work". Some pictures will justify it others maybe not.