Camera or Lens. Which to upgrade first.

ron_brown6

<p>I have an original 5D, and am wanting to either upgrade my camera to a 6D, or buy a 70-200 f/4 lens. As much as I wish I could do both, unfortunately, I can only do one or the other. My 5D is a pretty decent camera, even though my best lens is a simple 50mm 1.8. So if I do go with the 6D, again the 50mm would be my best lens. And I have heard nothing but good about the 70-200.<br>

I am not a professional, but I do have an undying love of photography. I shoot anything and everything, and am always open to learning more. So basically, this is my question; Would you upgrade from a 5D to a 6D, or would you spend some money on a premium lens, a 70-200 f/4 IS?<br>

Any advice or help woyld be truly appreciated, as I am ready to pull the trigger on one or the other. Thanks all. Ron</p>

<p> </p>

<p>If the current body provides the function and reliability that you require (esp. with respect to low light performance and video (or not)), then a new lens would seem to make more sense.</p>

<p>I'm just upgrading from 5D to 5DIII, but not really by choice: there's a sort of trickle down process of spreading cameras around in our family, and... a long story. So anyway, I was forced to upgrade, poor me ;)</p>

<p>But I really liked my 5D, had no problems with it, was very comfortable with it.</p>

<p>One thing to keep in mind with 6D too: it uses the a different memory card format, not a deal breaker, but something to consider. You can read up on the differences on TheDigitalPicture.</p>

<p>If I was in your shoes right now, I'd pick up the 70-200. It's not clear from your post, but the IS version of the f4 will be more versatile I think.</p>

<p>I think you may be artificially limiting yourself to these two choices. There are many others that will allow you to a) improve your photographic capabilities comprehensively, and b) stay within your budget. </p>