Camera for wife?

robin_terrey

<p>My wife asked for a Cannon Digital Rebel for Christmas. I would rather get her a Oly or other 4/3 camera. She needs a simple point & shoot camera. Is there an Olympus digital Pen which will suite her and yet enable me to use my OM lenses with a suitable adapter? I have no experience with digital cameras, still using film, so I need all the help I can get.</p>

<p>LIke bath towels, and deodorant and toothpaste, Robin, let her pick <em>her</em> camera and you stick to your OM film camera that you know and love, best idea right off the bat. <br /> However the technical but not necessarily tactical answer to your question is that <em>yes</em> there is a way to use your OM lenses on a digital Olympus or Panasonic body. Any micro four thirds interchangable lens camera will work with an adapter. Adapters go from 40.00 up to 200.00 ....She might enjoy trying out almost any of the very small light Pen model Olys and the G series Panasonics, but remember the Rebel is a popular good camera as well and has appeal, her Canon choice has merits. Good bang for the buck there. <br>

And, a footnote to the above is that any E series Oly body, (only one of which is still in production unfortunately) will fit OM lenses with an adapter but it is the complicated heavy model. <br /> You may not like the adapted idea because you lose autofocus and other features of so called native lenses. <br /> My help advise is "Get her her Rebel with lens attached package." Be a sport for the holiday IMO . Sharing in this case is not prudent I am suggesting. I do wish you both well with this generous gift.</p>