Calumet Travelites

Rick Waller

I have no experience with monolights and was about to take the plunge with some

Alien Bees or White Lightnings.

I have stumbled onto a connection to obtain some Calumet Travelites which enjoy

a great reputation on this and other forums. I plan on using these lights (2

of them to begin with) for shooting some head shots, 3/4 shots and both small

and large groups - say up to 10 to 12 people - full length using 2 umbrellas or

shoot through umbrellas. Softboxes will probably come later.

I have the opportunity to obtain either (1) two 750w/s Travelites or (2) one

750w/s and one 375 w/s Travelite. I think I understand that using two 750 w/s

lights will have me dialing them back pretty severely when shooting from 1 to 3

folks head or 3/4 shots. I am concerned though about having too little power

when shooting full length couples or groups.

I need to make a hasty decision since the window of opportunity to obtain the

deal is relatively small. Is it a major problem to have two 750's and "too

much" power? The way I am leaning, I'd rather err on too much power and use ND

gels rather than come up short on w/s's. I figure the bigger lights will also

help if I move them outdoors and try to overcome daytime ambient light.

When and if I get a 3rd light to use as a rim light or backround light, I would

almost assuredly opt for a 375w/s, but how about for the key and fill lights?

Any suggestions? I am shooting digital, by the way and my experience has been

with SB800's into umbrellas which are a problem outdoors shot into umbrellas.

Need to have the umbrellas WAY close to the subject in order to be able to stop

down a reasonable fstop for dof purposes.