California Zephyr and Chicago

frantownshend

In a few days time I will be flying to San Francisco then boarding the train for Chicago. I am new to photography and would like advice on

photographing scenery from the train. In Chicago, besides the Bean and starting point for Route 66, can anyone suggest places I won't

want to miss photographing?

Thanks,

Fran

<p>In Chicago, a walk from the Bean (Cloud Gate by Anish Kapoor) to the Adler Planetarium south along the lake, about 2/3 mile, is a very pretty walk and affords good overall skyline views of Downtown, and the Navy Pier. The boat ride down the Chicago river, offered by the Chicago Architectural Society, gives unmatched views of many beautiful and historic buildings. The view from the Skybox on Willis Tower is pretty amazing. If you like street shooting, a walk around the downtown loop gives many opportunities for photography as well as great shopping and dining. Lot's of tourists around taking pictures so folks are accustomed to visitors with cameras. Don't miss the Art Institue of Chicago which is across the street from Millenium Park where Cloud Gate is found.</p>