Calibrating a digital SLR

RaymondC

Hi, just a general question. Done some readings and it talked about calibrating

a DSLR with a gregtag macbeth color chart.

Is this method only viable in a studio where the lighting is consistent?

If I calibrated this say indoors at home, and then go overseas on holiday and

stuff, can I still use that calibration? Or does it mean, I have to shoot a

color chart at each diff location I am in?

Cheers

Ray why do you need a calibration? What is your camera? I am not an expert on this but the experts will want to know :-)

A calibration only gives you an improvement over the calibration "as is" if the calibration is better than the one you got. It is very easy to screw up the calibration. When done correctly it is very likely that there is only a noticeable improvement for one light setup , e.g. for a studio with a certain defined set of lights. Depending on the individual sensor a careful calibration would be beneficial for all shooting but there is more needed than to put a test chart on the table and take few pictures.

Calibrating your camera?

Usually you calibrate your monitor and if you print at home, your printer. Not your camera.

For optimal color, you should shoot a color chart at every location you shoot to get accurate color. (accurate color is not always best).

The reason you calibrate you monitor is so what you see on your computer is what everyone else will see and get the "true" color of the image. You calibrate your printer so you are printing what you see.

With all that said, if you insist on shooting jpeg there are in-camera settings that you can do to "tweak" the out of the camera image.