C41 processing: PITA or worth it?

The trick with C41 is to keep the temperature at a constant 38C - the tolerance is minimal. If you can't keep the chemicals and the waterbath at exactly 38C your negatives will suffer. If all you do is 35mm, you are much better of letting your lab do the job - and it is cheap too! B&W and C41 are two very different processes - B&W is perfect for development at home, C41 not so.

I'm still pretty new to film, and I enjoy processing B&W myself, but my photo prof says that in his opinion,

processing C41 at home simply isn't worth the hassle.

I want to hear opinions and assessments of how much more tedious/difficult/finicky C41 processing is

over B&W, what things to look out for, etc.

Basically, I'm a n00b and I want to know what the score is on C41 processing.

It isn't so much of a hassle. As it is non creative, standardized procedure. Unlike B&W silver based films, where the time,temp and developer combos are virtually endless. Color film gets the same time/temp/development everytime. There isn't any way to alter development/contrast.

Do a search on this forum, it's been discussed many times. The exactness of temp is really only for the developer, after that, you have more leeway but it's still a more controlled process than B&W. The specs and the real tolerances are not the same.

The big disadvantage IMHO, is that it's so easy to screw-up and you probably won't know how far off your process control is until you can't make good prints. By then, you've ruined your shots.

The lack of creativity in process turns many off, but for the people who enjoy challanges and strange results, the process can be altered quite a bit. I find it more fun on the computer though.

Doug