C41 Chemistry

<p>I have three boxes of sealed C41 Chemicals, each contains 3 sealed bottles: Part A Color developer, Part B Color Developer and Bleach Fix. (mine say "colour" because I am in England).<br>

They are well past their "best before" dates but are completely sealed (plastic/foil seals on each bottle that are part of the plastic bottle and have to be punctured to get at the liquid).<br>

My question is what color should they be? <br>

The Dev A has a purple color to it.<br>

The Dev B is clear.<br>

The Bleach Fix is brown.<br>

It has been a few years since I did any C41 processing so any hints about how to check if the chemicals are OK would be welcome.<br>

Also, what happens if you mix 100 ASA C41 film and 400 ASA film in the same tank? The Developing times are the same but the Bleach Fix times are 50% longer for 400 ASA. For example, what would be the consequence of using the longer bleach fix on 100 ASA?<br>

I'm not a novice at processing but all my activity has been E6 transparencies or digital, not C41. <br>

Any advice on how to spot dead or depleted chemistry will be most welcome!<br>

Thanks</p>

<p>Bob</p>

<p>C-41 is a standard process. All films have the same processing time, including Bleach/Fix, regardless of film speed. Much simpler than traditional black and white.</p>

<p>The only way to determine dead chemistry is to run a film through it. That's why labs have test strips. We commoners just use a length of film with non-important shots to check. I have lost 'important' films to dead developer. It is is distressing.</p>

<p>Thanks Bill.<br>

The instructions with the C41 clearly give two sets of bleach fix times - one for 400ASA and over and one for 200 ASA and below. I thought it should be standard.<br>

I will run a test strip as you suggest but would still like to know what the chemicals should look like as this might save a test strip. Easy in a contiuous proesses lab, but a bit tedious if you use a rotary processor.<br>