[C330f] Diaph ring handling very difficult

emmanuel_b1

<p>Hi there,<br>

<br />I just purchased a 55mm for my C330f, it looks pretty, but the diaph ring is very difficult to move.<br>

I'm even afraid to break the plastic handle<br>

I think the time being, notches are maybe sticked or whatever.<br>

Anu easy way to fix it, air pressure, oil, grease ...?</p>

<p>Mine went like that a couple of years back. Took it for a CLA! :)<br>

Not connected with this question but the other day I saw a mint C3 (still with its lens-cap!) in my local camera shop. Price - £229 ( = ca. $365) !! That's steep for a near 50 year-old camera. But the Devil on my shoulder was whispering "Buy!". I did manage to overcome temptation! :)</p>

<blockquote>

<p>my father in law job is to repair camera lenses, but camera for movies, not sure it's the same job.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Mamiya lens are in Seiko shutters. I have very little experience with Seiko shutters as they are not that common in large format camera lens. Your father in law should be able to fix it especially if the movie cameras he has experience with has small mechanical parts. This description of leaf shutters should help.<br>

At the bottom of the case is the aperture plate with the lever that you operate. It has slots in it that are angled or curved.<br>

Above that is the aperture blades laid on top of the previous one in a counter clockwise direction. Each blade has a pin on each end, one goes in the bottom plate and the other goes in the top aperture plate which has holes just large enough for the pin to rotate in. The top aperture plate is attached to the case with screws once the aperture blades are in their respective holes. <br>