Buying used lenses from an auction site (or any store)

<p>I wasn't sure where to post this question. If this is not the place, I apologize and please move it to the appropriate place.</p>

<p>I'm really not ready to purchase another lens, but I have been thinking about what type of lens I might want. When the time comes, I'd like to certainly save money by buying used. As a beginner, I'm probably better off buying used from a store that checks and rates equipment as to its condition. But, should I happen upon the lens I'm interested in on an auction site, I'd like to know a few things beforehand. First, is that a good idea? Second, what sort of things does one look for in a lens to be sure it's OK? </p>

<p>Thanks, and happy hump day,<br>

Renee</p>

<p>I've purchased several lenses and a couple camera bodies on eBay. There is no complete guarantee, but eBay will help if you have a dispute with a seller. I've had a couple problems in the past 10 years with items I purchased impulsively from sellers with minimal sales records. I've not had any problems with major purchases from sellers with good records. There is more risk than with B&H Photo, but the price is lower. I consider it a good trade. </p>

<p>Due diligence usually trumps dumb luck as the key to happiness with eBay purchases. A large dollop of patience helps, too. All the usual advice on when and how to bid is worth taking. Contacting buyers with questions about condition/functionality/shipping or asking for more/better pix can also help you avoid a bad deal.</p>