Buying Nikon in the USA but using in different country

thomas_hanrahan

Hi all,

I'm from NZ but have an opportunity to buy a DSLR (looking at the new D90 + kit) in the USA.

Not sure if there are others either living in NZ or elsewhere outside of the US who have purchased cameras from the

US, but I would like to know whether there are any compatability issues or other downsides with buying a camera

from the US and using it in NZ/outside of the US?

Just wondering about the battery, charger, DC input, HDMI, AV, USB, etc... even the software supplied - are these

all workeable in NZ/elsewhere?

Thanks for any help.

Personally, I put very little value on the warranty. I have been using Nikon SLRs since 1977 and I recently purchased my 12th Nikon SLR, 5 of them DSLRs. None of them has ever required warranty service although some of them are still within the warranty period.

Therefore, if you can save a lot of money getting it in the US instead of New Zealand, I think it is a reasonable risk to take getting it in the US. Worst comes to worst, just send it back to the US for repair.

For the same reason I think it is very unwise to buy any extended warranty. I would never have taken advantage of any extended warraty. Those are simply very bad deals for the buyer.

Shun Cheung,

Using that logic would you then recommend that we here in the US buy our Nikon's from the so called "Grey Market", dealers that sell them with non-USA warranties? It looks like to me that there are several big reputable companies online that do that, sell both at a saving for non USA warranty.

phil

Hi Shun,

I respectfully disagree with your statement as it applies to the original manufacturer's warranty.