Buying a shooter's Leica M

jv1

G'day everyone,

I am a student and I "work" part of the time as a photojournalist

for a local paper. Street and documentary photography are my main

interest. My Nikon SLR system serves me well for different types of

photography, but it doesn't quite fit the bill for a quiet,

unobtrusive, top-quality street shooter.

Most of the time I have thus used a fixed-lens Minolta 7s

rangefinder. It's a very nice camera, the Rokkor glass is extremely

sharp. I do however have a lot of gripes with the camera. 45mm is

not my preferred focal length (35mm is), it's a bit on the bulky

side, the controls are extremely fiddly (I have trouble adjusting

the shutter speeds each time, which means taking the camera away

from my eye, turning it around, forcefully twisting the ring (while

hurting my fingers), ... As much as I'd like to love this camera (it

was my first), it's not a good shooter. I considered my options -

Bessa's, Hexars, Zorkis or other LTM cameras, ...

I realised that if I'd buy anything other than a Leica M it would

just be a costly slow-down, for I know I would be upgrading to a

Leica M afterwards.

I was hoping you people could advise me as to what body to buy

exactly and possibly where I could find a lot of information. The

body I am looking at now is the plain M6 72. I don't need flash on

these cameras, I don't need aperture-priority, I don't need faux

ostrych leather, ... Let me formulate my questions a bit more

structured:

Firstly, what are the alternatives to the classic M6? Does the M6TTL

add any real improvements other than flash and an 'off'-switch? What

about the older models - M2, M3 and M4 - is there anything I am

missing by not looking at those? I would like a meter, but perhaps I

am overlooking any advantages of the older models. I'm not

exspecting you people to discuss each body in detail, so the next

question is...

Secondly, what would be a good site for information on Leica bodies?