Buying 1st 4x5 - For Field Use - Thinking Sinar F1

j.lewis.photo

I've been using large format for a couple of months now, using a borrowed Toyo

45CX and I'm ready to buy my own LF camera. I've been looking for a used

Sinar F1 or F2 in good condition w/ a 90 and 210 lens to start. I'd like to

state my needs and see if anyone has suggestions on a camera that they think

would better suit my purpose, or if they think this is a good choice.

I'm a photo student, and I'm looking for a camera that I can learn from and

never feel limited by. I shoot almost entirely in the field, but have used

the studio in the past and plan on using it more in the near future. I do

mainly architectural shots and landscapes. I will need to take this camera

hiking, to the beach, on trips, etc. So far I've been breaking the toyo down

and stuffing it in a MF camera bag, but I hope to use a backpack in the

future. But 95% of the time I'm parking my car and walking with the camera in

the city, this is why I ruled out technical cameras. I've always found the

Toyo a bit flimsy, I hate wondering if my focus has been disrupted while

sliding in negative carriers, so I'd really like a sturdier camera. Plus my

exposures often are several minutes long, I like to shoot at night a lot and

with the lens stopped completely down.

Why I've chosen the Sinar F1/F2 so far: A teacher recommended it to me, they

only weigh 8 pounds, there not huge, their are always some on ebay, and I

figure it's a good way to get a qualit built camera, without paying an arm and

a leg for a more expensive and especially heavier sinar. I originally had my

heart set on a technical camera, but I realized I won't be needing to climb

Mt. Everest too many times while in school so I should probably get a camera

that is more full featured and will never have restrictive movements, since

much of my work thus far has required all the movements my lens could allow.