Business card critique

Discussion in 'Wedding and Event' started by davebell, Jul 23, 2009.

1. Hi all,
    I would very much appreciate your opinion on two versions of business cards I have designed (both very similar in fact...). Please don't hold back, let fire with any and all positive and negative comments you may have. I am not a graphic designer, but this I think is a reasonable attempt by myself - but lets see what you think!
    00U169-157351584.jpg

2. And here is version 2....
    00U16B-157351684.jpg

3. i like the whole layout etc, very clean and simple, but I'm not sure if I'm keen on the image you've chosen. It perhaps isn't punchy enough - not really sure. Have you got any other fave images you could use?

4. I agree with Anna above....I think an alternate image might work better. The floppy jacket sleeve, tilt of the image and intersecting X of the three arms appears a little jumbled and busy to me. I prefer the color over the B&W though.

5. Thanks Anna and David for your comments! I have whipped up three alternate versions below. Please let me know if we're heading upwards or downwards.....

6. Version 3....
    00U18L-157377584.jpg

7. Version 4....
    00U18O-157377684.jpg

8. Version 5....
    00U18S-157377884.jpg

9. personally, I would not lowercase the name.

10. I like the simplicity of the card, the layout is great considering your not a designer. You really need a smokin"image though. An image that wows the holder.....not an image that your neighbor could take or any other photographer for that matter. Once you find an image that exemplifies your style and expertise...print it! The lowercase letters on your name looks great! leave it alone...

11. Hi David,