Business card critique

davebell

<p>Hi all,</p>

<p>I would very much appreciate your opinion on two versions of business cards I have designed (both very similar in fact...). Please don't hold back, let fire with any and all positive and negative comments you may have. I am not a graphic designer, but this I think is a reasonable attempt by myself - but lets see what you think!</p><div>00U169-157351584.jpg.1869c501905b16e46d93ab4f64326880.jpg</div>

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

<p>I like the simplicity of the card, the layout is great considering your not a designer. You really need a smokin"image though. An image that wows the holder.....not an image that your neighbor could take or any other photographer for that matter. Once you find an image that exemplifies your style and expertise...print it! The lowercase letters on your name looks great! leave it alone...</p>

<p>Hi David,<br>

I learned in advertising that people really like faces. People like to see people that could potentially be them. A picture that shows emotion would capture attention and show your skill. And maybe consider a logo to use on cards, website and photo watermarks just to show some continuity so that your website sticks in a bride's mind when she is browsing through different photographers.</p>

<p>David, I would get your wife, girlfriend, sister or female friends to flip through a few wedding magazines and take notice of the photographer ads they gravitate to. I think you will find that the images they love are ones that evoke emotion or a vision of what they would like as a special image on their wedding day.</p>

<p>This is something along the lines of what Mark is saying. I had an image I used in ads and on my cards and brochures that defined me and my style. It also evoked emotion. Everywhere I went, people would comment about that image... Also, when brides called me for an appointment - they would always mention that image... </p>