built-in lightmeters on flashes..

juke

Hi

<br>

<p>Almost all old flashes has built-in lightmeter "eye", and I guess

that most of the modern flashes too has.

<p>At least Nikon SB-serie flashes have lightmeter. That leads to my

question - Does the metering field of internal light meter change

while using flashead's zoom (SB-24, SB-25, SB-26, SB-28, ..).

<p>If it won't, then how big should I assume the built-in meter's

reading area? That information would help a lot when shooting against

dark/light background.

<p>Regards, Juke

I'm no expert but various manufacturers have used different technologies to assist in making accurate flash exposures.

The basic sensor you're thinking of on older flash units was part of an auto thyristor technology that worked independently of the camera. The flash usually had one or more auto settings (besides full manual output), which would quench the flash when the sensor detected a certain amount of reflected flash. It was pretty reliable in most situations and still works well. However it can be fooled by tricky reflective surfaces - white dresses, black tuxedos - at night or with backlighting.

Some camera/flash systems added a primitive but effective technology based on guide numbers and focus distance. Some older consumer grade fixed lens rangefinders, like the Canonets, used this system. It was also an option for some early Canon SLRs, lenses and hotshoe flashes. I had a Canon FTbn, 50mm normal lens and AB-something or other flash unit that used this system.

Later some Olympus autoexposure/autofocus cameras added a more sophisticated guide number/focus distance based flash technology that added some TTL technology. If I'm recalling correctly the iS-series "ZLRs" used this.

Okay, back to your original question...