Building a SLR system

shijun_shen

I am new to photograhy and I am trying to get my first set of SLR

system. I am thinking about buying an N65 body. Here is my

question, I am thinking about buying either a Nikon 24-85/3.5-4.5 G

EDIF Lense or Nikon 28-105/3.5-4.5 1:2 Macro Lense. The both ran

about $300 dollars. The previous one is a bit more expensive. Any

suggestions?

The 28-105 is sharp (neither of these are "pro" lenses) and has a greater range and macro capability. The 24-85 is smaller and about 40g lighter. Try out both on a body and see if you notice any difference in focussing speed, if that's important to you. I'd also think about the N80 body to get spot metering.

Let me offer an alternative approach. Think about purchasing the body and a single, prime lens. Perhaps a 50/1.8 or the 35/2. Use the one lens as much as possible until you feel you want a new perspective and only then buy another lens. Learn about depth of field, learn about composition, learn about getting close to a subject, learn about light, and keep the rest simple.

I have a full slr system for both 35 and 6x7, yet I find that I do generally just as well carrying around a rangefinder with a 35mm lens as I do with the other equipment. Yes, there are situations that demand the other equipment, but you first need to learn the basics before you branch out.

Both lenses are great. You can't go wrong with either one. The 24mm wide end on the 24-85mm is usefull for interior shot when space is limited. While the 28-105 is a great range for traveler for outdoor photos. The 24-85 will focus slightly faster on some AF bodies but doesn't have apperture ring to use with the old Nikons. The 28-105 seems heavier and seems to be a better built-lens and the macro feature is a bonus. The ED glass on the 24-85 suppose to give a better optical quality. Either lens will work perfectly on an N65.. Pick one to fit your needs.

Just my 2 cents.