Building a Giant Viewfinder

First off, I'm an artist...not an engineer. I tried e-mailing one of these

optics outfits for advice and got a bunch of equations and stuff. Eh, very nice

people but about 4 light years above my head.

Recently I've stumbled across a promising technique called "Through The

Viewfinder" photography. Most of the people who do this buy old cameras and

shoot through their viewfinders with a macro lens, I believe.

I'm thinking why not build a giant viewfinder instead? Something with plastic

lenses. Fixed focus. Don't care about distortion or anything like that. That

way I could just hold the thing up a couple feet in front of a regular 24mm lens

with one hand and shoot with the other. Again, not looking for top optical

performance here. I may have to have a tube that surrounds the camera lens and

goes to the big homemade viewfinder for obvious reasons, but this won't have to

be a contraption as elaborate as these people have to do.

Is what I'm talking about possible? Am I even making sense?

Thanks.

Well, if you want a ready-made answer... check out a Graflex camera. They are old press cameras for large format photography. The lenses are interchangible via a lens-board and you can mount whatever the heck kind of lens you want to the front because you can make your own lens-boards out of cardboard or wood. They usually come with a back with ground-glass on it and sometimes even with a built-in hood over the ground-glass, which would shade it to make it easier to photograph. You would still need some kind of close-focus lens on your taking camera, as most standard lenses will not focus close enough to get 4x5" to cover the frame.

A similar device could be homemade... a box with a lens on one end and ground glass or wax paper at the other.... basically a camera obscura. Do a search on camera obscura and you will find that people have turned entire vans and even hotel rooms into giant camera obscuras and photographed the results.